Pros 27.07.2019 — 18:28 Uhr

A win and a loss for Mainz at the Opel Cup

Mainz suffer heavy defeat against tournament champions Sevilla before convincing win against Everton

Erkan Eyibil celebrates his first-ever goal in the OPEL ARENA.

Mainz were unable to win the Opel Cup once again, this time in the second-edition of the tournament. Lucas Ocampos scored from the spot as Sevilla beat Everton 1-0 in the opening match of the tournament. Mainz got off to a terrible start against Sevilla, going into the halftime break down 4-0 against the Spaniards (final score: 5-0). That sealed the title for the team from the Primera Division at the 2019 Opel Cup. Mainz secured second place after a 3-1 win against Everton in the following match.

Mainz were unable to find their way into the tournament against the highly-talented side from Andalusia. Alejandro Pozo started the scoring (8’), before Munir El Haddadi netted a brace (12’, 21’), with Munas Dabbur scoring the fourth goal just before halftime (30’). Mainz got off to a better start in the second half, but Hack, Onisiwo and Quaison failed to utilize their chances. Munas Dabbur scored his second in the final minutes to seal the tournament win for Sevilla.

Convincing win against Everton

Things went a lot better for Mainz in the final match of the day, in front of approximately 6,000 fans. Quaison put Mainz ahead in the 29th minute, deking out goalkeeper Jonas Lössl before slotting it home. Mainz scored again after a beautifully executed counter-attack. Niakhaté won the ball and played it to Quaison, who set up 17-year-old Eyibil whose shot from 16 metres made it 2-0 (36’). It was the debut goal in the OPEL ARENA for Eyibil, a product of Mainz’s youth academy. After Everton pulled one back via Lewis Gibson off a corner, Quaison responded once again. This time, Fernandes won the ball in front of the opponent’s 18-yard box, laying it off to Quaison who scored from 18 metres. After a bad start to the tournament,  the hosts ended the day with a convincing win, finishing in second place.

Mainz 05 first match: Müller – Brosinski, Gürleyen, Hack, Aarón – Barreiro, Öztunali, Boëtius, Maxim – Akono, Onisiwo

Mainz 05 second match: Zentner – Brosinski (Papela), Bell, Niakhaté, Nebel – Barreiro (Fernandes), Latza, Baku, Boëtius (Eyibil) – Burkardt, Quaison